The Poetry Project


Board of Directors

Ricardo Alberto Maldonado (Chair), DéLana R.A. Dameron, Boo Froebel, Molly B. Gross, Deepali Gupta, Vincent Katz, Annabel Lee, and Purvi Shah

Executive Director: Kyle Dacuyan

Kyle Dacuyan is a poet and arts administrator dedicated to work at the intersections of writing, performance, and movement and community building. Prior to joining The Poetry Project, he served as Co-Director of National Outreach & Membership at PEN America, where he led the launch of a nationwide community engagement fund for writers. Before that, he served as Associate Director at the Antiquarian Booksellers’ Association of America. His poems appear in Best New Poets, DIAGRAM, Foundry, and Lambda Literary among other places, and he has presented performance work at Ars Nova, Cloud City, and the Institute on the Arts & Civic Dialogue.

Managing Director: Nicole Wallace

Nicole Wallace’s first chapbook, WAASAMOWIN, was published by IMP in 2019. Most recently, Nicole was the June/July 2020 poetry micro-resident at Running Dog and a 2019 Poets House Emerging Poets Fellow. Recent poetry can be read in print in Survivance: Indigenous Poesis Vol. IV Zine and online at Running Dog, A Perfect Vacuum, and LitHub. Nicole received a BA from NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study and a Masters of Library Science in Archives and Preservation of Cultural Materials from Queens College, CUNY.

Director of Learning & Community Engagement: Laura Henriksen

Laura Henriksen’s first book, Laura’s Desires, is forthcoming from Nightboat. She is the author of numerous chapbooks, and her writing can be found in The Brooklyn Rail, P-Queue, Foundry, Shit Wonder, and other places. She received her BFA in poetry from Pratt, and her Masters in American Studies and Gender Studies at CUNY Graduate Center.

Associate Director of Operations: Roberto Montes

Roberto Montes is the author of I DON'T KNOW DO YOU, named one of the Best Books of 2014 by NPR and a finalist for the 2014 Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry from The Publishing Triangle. His poetry has appeared in The Lambda Literary Spotlight, Guernica, PEN America Poetry Series, and elsewhere. A chapbook, GRIEVANCES, is now available from the Atlas Review TAR chapbook series.

Communications Manager: Sasha Banks

Sasha Banks is a Pushcart nominated poet whose work has been published or is forthcoming in The Atlantic, Vanity Fair, PBS Newshour, and others. She received her MFA at Pratt Institute. She is a 2019 Rhode Island Writers’ Colony Fellow and the creator of Poets for Ferguson. She is the author of america, MINE.

Copywriting and Design Associate: Will Farris

Will Farris is an artist and poet. In 2019 they were the inaugural recipient of The Brannan Prize at The Poetry Project judged by Lisa Jarnot. Their work has been published in blush lit.

Creative Communications Coordinator: Ivanna Baranova

Ivanna Baranova is a poet and artist based in Los Angeles. Her poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Cixous72, Jubilat, Newest York, Peace on Earth Reivew, and elsewhere. She is the author of CONFIRMATION BIAS (Metatron Press, 2019), selected as a finalist for the 2018 Metatron Prize.

Newsletter Editorial Collective

Kay Gabriel, Imani Elizabeth Jackson, and Morgan Võ

Past editors: John Rufo and Wendy Trevino

Newsletter Art Editor

Dave Morse


Rachel Allen, Ama Birch, Noa Mendoza, Aida Muratoglu, and Olive Reilly

Audio & Technical Managers

James Barickman and Matty D’Angelo

Box Office Managers

Anjali Emsellem, Cori Hutchinson, and Anna Kreienberg

Book Sales Manager

Katie Brunero

Event Photographers

Jonathan Aprea

Event Videographers

Matt Proctor and Lix Z


Ry Dunn, Quinn Luthy, Sunny Sequeira, Monica Torres, Ryan Tuozzolo, Mathew Weitman, and Matthew Young

Friends Committee

Brooke Alexander, Dianne Benson, Will Creeley, Raymond Foye, Michael Friedman (in memoriam), Steve Hamilton (in memoriam), Viki Hudspith, Siri Hustvedt, Yvonne Jacquette, Gillian McCain, Eileen Myles, Patricia Spears Jones, Michel de Konkoly Thege, Greg Masters, Ron Padgett, Bob Holman, Paul Slovak, Edwin Torres, John Yau, and Anne Waldman